Saturday, January 30, 2010

Normandy Veterans honoured

Henry Wormstrup (Mayor of Copeland) and Jamie Reed (MP for Copeland)
With some of the Normandy Veterans honoured at a recent medal ceremony
(Held at St Nicholas Chapel, Whitehaven, Cumbria, Friday 22 January 2010)

For additional information click on 'Comments' below


Blogger ritsonvaljos said...

Seen on the above photograph are:

Standing (Back Row, L-R):
Henry Wormstrup (Mayor of Copeland), Albert Madine, Jamie Reed (MP for Copeland), John Slater

Seated (Front Row, L-R):
George Cottier, Roy Rogers, Louis Williams, Pat Kelly, George Smith, Harry Warren, Billy Pye

For various reasons, the following Normandy Veterans from West Cumbria were unfortunately absent from the ceremony:
Alan Aitkenhead, Charlie Nicholson, Leo Smith, Jim Tweedie, Billy Wilson, Arthur Wright, Dick Wylie.

The ceremony was taken by Reverend John Bannister, Rector of Whitehaven, who had served as Chaplain to the West Cumbria Branch of the Normandy Veterans Association since his arrival in West Cumbria about 10 years earlier. During the ceremony, Reverend Bannister was presented with a certificate of thanks on behalf of the veterans.

Tuesday, 02 February, 2010  

Post a Comment

<< Home